It’s not nostalgia, NBA on NBC did kickass

The following is just a little rant I want to get off my chest:


Just everything about NBC‘s broadcast in that clip is lightyears better than the crap ABC chruns out for us. Oh why couldn’t TNT be NBC’s successor to broadcast the NBA for the Finals? They’re by far the best in terms of actually giving viewers useful information in a fun entertainment package presently.

ABC/ESPN basically treat it like it’s a 3rd grade event. Where’s the “essence” that Bob Costas use to center when he did the prologues? Dan Patrick? Get out of my house. Where’s the theme (NBC using the highlighted Peacock to open still gives me chills) and the recognizable song that let’s you know, yes, we’re watching the best broadcast? From my friend Mr. Wikipedia.com:

Music

Main article: National Basketball Association music

The most common complaint about ABC’s coverage of the NBA is its inconsistent theme music. After the 1990s (when the NBA arguably reached it’s highest point in terms of popularity) many hardcore and casual fans began to associate the league with NBC, and more accurately, the network’s theme music, Roundball Rock. Whereas NBC used Roundball Rock for all twelve years of its coverage, ABC has used at least nine themes in its first four years. Three of the themes were traditional sports themes, while six of them (We Got Hoops by Robert Randolph and the Family Band, Can’t Get Enough by Justin Timberlake, Let’s Get It Started by the Black Eyed Peas, Lose My Breath by Destiny’s Child, This Is How A Heart Breaks by Rob Thomas and Runnin’ Down a Dream by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers) were contemporary pieces by known artists.

(oh, where’s “the next” John Tesh when you need him?)

It’s not an unpopular opinion to say ABC sucks at this, but I find it weird that ABC just decided to suck even though they had a very good model from which to extend. Thank the Zeus TNT knew how to pick up the slack during the playoffs (and regular games too), or else I wouldn’t know how to keep watching primetime televised broadcasts. I’m glad at least ABC got things right with having Hubie and Mike Green; finally solid commentators. But still, the whole package in which made me love the entire aspect of basketball can be improved.

Here’s hoping ABC can get it right this coming season (I doubt it) or else I’ll need a hard drink…

Unrelatedness of the Day:
“NBA Basketball”… isn’t that redundant? Nation Basketball Association Basketball? Hmm.. Gotta look into this..

  1. Charles Renfrew

    I’d rather watch paint dry than the NBA on ESPN on ABC, or whatever the hell it’s called.
    Thank God I have about 50 NBA on NBC games from back in the day that I can watch over and over in digital format now. Booya.

  2. Charles Renfrew

    I’d rather watch paint dry than the NBA on ESPN on ABC, or whatever the hell it’s called.
    Thank God I have about 50 NBA on NBC games from back in the day that I can watch over and over in digital format now. Booya.




Leave a Reply

