Lost In The NBA: Flashing Forward…

Hey now, that was pretty nice way to flip the script: literally! For those that read this site (and I know you do, my stats say at least one of you is from Poland) and enjoy the silly NBA commentary now and then, sorry for going pretty much off topic today. However, that’s what I do around here, go totally into unrelated land, so… blah on that front.

So back to LOST: First of all, as you can see above, Jack is sooooo late to the Playoff beard party. Seriously, as soon as Baron’s Warriors got boosted by the Jazz, the beard craze was ova. As for the rest of episode, I really liked it. Though it was different from the previous two years where the writers would jam way too many new “omg, check that out!”-type scenes (Season 1: the bloody ladder of the hatch; Season 2: the toe statue; the ultraviolet light; the arctic dudes playing chess talking to Penelope) it had a very nice punchline. I’m not one of those spoilers folks so I totally didn’t see that one coming even though there were plenty of clues: Jack’s beard (seriously!); his substance abuse-ness; his ex about to drop a baby; his new phone that probably didn’t come out in 2004. But call me dumb, I didn’t see that coming, which was cool to me (as I’m always one to try to figure out things way ahead), it left me with a great feeling.

As for the reveal itself: the Flash Forward idea is wicked… but what are the writers up to now? Is that going to be the norm for Season 4? If so, how? I assume they get off the island right then, so is there is still going to be any stories left there (well, duh, I’m sure they have something up the alley for that… but I’m just asking). Anyways, it was a good surprise for once. On to Bullez-Points of Good Moments:

  • Jack & Crew finally get a moment of the upper hand, Jesus, they never ever get good endings
  • JOHN LOCKE IS TEH HOTNESS! Dude is insane. Survives the gun wound in the gut, summons WAAAAAALLLLT! to help him out and have enough energy to backstab (hee!) the hottie English chick. Love him.
  • Charlie going out in style. Some people on a couple message boards say he didn’t need to die (just let the water flow in and jump into the pool with Desmond) but someone brought up the physics— that due to the pressure, the whole station would’ve flooded within minutes, not enough time for the both of them to escape. Eh, I bought it.
  • That English chick isn’t with Penelope… hmmm…
  • Evangeline Lilly is sooooooo purrrty (finally getting real makeup…)
  • Was it Sawyer’s funeral no one went to? My first thought was Ben for some reason
  • So was Ben right? That they aren’t supposed to leave the island? Is that why Jack is so eff-ed up by his lonesome? Or is tha his usual assdick-ness? So many wonderful questions. Like what about the rest of the guys, where they be at? Are some dead? Yeah, I’ll stay tuned next season fo sho’!

Now, trying to tie all that with the NBA, let’s flash forward with some teams:

Of course, the Elder Statesman himself, G-Oden will terrorize the Pacific Northwest for years to come. Though we still have no clue whether or not the Portland Trailblazers will draft him (because Kevin Durant is a better fit) but I can envision him being picked #1. Only because he’s going to be so good since he’s still raw (but has sick post moves). Here’s hoping Greg still retains his bookworm tendencies and stays far faaaaar away from the off court activities of one Zach Randolph.

I expect dude to dominate right away, Tim Duncan-style. And they should be in good look for a playoff spot. Hell, they might even go as far as win the division title! Who’s going to stop them? Seattle? Oooh riiight right… they have the 2nd pick… umm.. well, they’re vagabonds anyways, who cares about them.

And in 2010, Josh Smith will lead the Atlanta Hawks into the Finals. YES I SAID IT. Okay, I might be on crack (as I usually am by 10:30 in the morning here on the East Coast), but since we’re doing this time lapse thingy, I might as well go for broke.

Look, the Hawkies have the 3rd pick. They’ll get someone really good. I don’t know who it is, because I’m on crack and I’m not usually up on these things. J-Smoothy (that should be a drink) is getting better and better. Hotatlanta is a hot hoops area… so I’m guessing by 2009, they’ll be good enough to be in the playoffs but get knocked out in the Eastern Conference Finals by the reigning Champs: The Cavaliers. Then, Josh Smith will own LeBron the next year for his ascension to the glory stage: the Finals and beat the Nuggets. Yes, all that shall happen.

YOU WERE [not] SUPPOSED TO LEAVE THE ISLAND! YOU [don’t] HAVE TO GO BACK!

aaaaannnd scene…

  1. SG

    Unfortunately, I had read the spoilers before watching last night’s episode. I totally regret doing so. Luckily, the spoiler I read didn’t mention anything about the Mystery Machine coming from the jungle to kill the others, otherwise it wouldn’t have been the funniest thing I’d ever seen.

    I initially thought the dude in the coffin was Sawyer, but Kate mentioned a “him” during her rendezvous with Jack. That made me think maybe the dude in the coffin was Locke (though I can’t really imagine him leaving the island) and the “him” Kate had to go home to was Sawyer.

    What is up with Desmond? There’s no way he had a vision in which Charlie died. Desmond was acting way too fishy. I think he had the vision of the underground hatch but that Charlie wasn’t necessarily involved. Maybe he brought Charlie because he knew there was some music stuff that needed to be tackled before the switch could be turned off.

    Good call on the Baron Davis beard. That was also my initial thought when I saw Jack.

    Holy Walt! I can’t believe the show didn’t try better to disguise the fact that the actor had just gone through puberty.

  2. Hah yeah, that awesome! Score one for the HurleyVan and Dharma Beer!

    Walt was HUUUGE. Oden wouldn’t stand a chance against him. Man, it’s not back until Feb — I dunno if I can hold back the spoiler lust to see how they do it from here: Off-Island = real time and Island = flashback or what.

    To quoth someone somewhere, that was a good mindf!ck

  3. When the f**k are they gonna explain that black smoke? The appearance of the black kid all grown-up was pretty weird and totally unnecessary.




Leave a Reply

