Take THAT, Sports Reporting! Says Mark Cuban

Dude, Mark, first: yay! for a post on your spot finally talking about the NBA. I love the tech/biz talk as much as any self-respecting geeksquad-blogger, but most of your jargon goes well over my tiny little head. Anyways, take this as a love letter for your newest entry man, just well said.

From Blog Maverick:

The past few weeks one of my former employees wanted to make a statement about our legal relationship and get his perspective covered in the media. No problem at all. The media people he spoke to asked me for a comment. I didnt give one. One media outlet wrote it as fact, then bloggers jumped in. The more bloggers jumped in covering what the other bloggers had to say about what the first bloggers said.

When I asked a local “reporter” why he was covering this when he only had one side and he knew i wasnt going to give a response, he said it was because his “editors thought it had become a national story”, I guess his bosses read blogs.. Then another media outlet, despite my no comment email response decided to take responses from months ago and present them in their story as if they were made in response to their current request. Nice.

I’m pretty sure he’s referring to this article to which was banana-blogged everywhere (see links). And I’ll admit too, that I fell into the lazy reader mode without carefully reading the the insinuations rather than accept it as simply as “sure, that sounds like a fact”. Sorry, my bad dude, at least I didn’t blog about it!

Cubes says that it’s a no-no on the media (and then subsequently blogs—where the media knew this is exactly the type of story that’d circulate) but I think us bloggers/readers need to be a bit more careful too … since it seems like the same o’l topics gets the most hit on and commented on based solely on heresy. He does backtalk blogs a bit, but I think it’s outta love (cue The More You Know awww) and hope that we need to be a bit better.

That said. If you are indeed suing Nellie for that freaking crazy thing about him knowing your team, then, yes, you are crazy. But yeah, props for making point, guy.

Blogging’s impact on media credibility [Blog Maverick]
Is Mavs owner now crying foul? [Star-Telegram]
Ballhype Story Tracking [Ballhype]

    Leave a Reply

