Prince Really Did Make It (Purple) Rain!

With many thanks to the notorious J.C.N. that oversees FanHouse along with Mottram, there’s an MTV interview with Prince, and he reveals what we’ve all wanted to know for the past 4 years … he is actually a balla 4 realz:

Sway: I wanted to tell you this story first: I was watching the Dave Chappelle show, and Eddie Murphy’s brother Charlie Murphy does this thing on it called “True Life Hollywood Stories,” and he told this story that he was hanging out with you at your house, and you guys were listening to music, and then you came up with the idea to all go play basketball. He said they didn’t have any clothes, so you got them shorts and T-shirts, but he said that your crew showed up to the basketball court with the same wardrobe [as you wear onstage]. High heels, suited and booted. Is that true?

Prince: That part’s not true. But the whupping’s true.

Sway: The whupping’s true. So you’ve got basketball skills?

Prince: A little bit.

Sway: Yeah? What you got? A crossover dribble? Or a jump shot?

Prince: We didn’t call it crossover back then.

Sway: What’d you call it?

Prince: Just speed.

Thank god for that piece so I can run this geniusness clip again…

(via: The Poor Man Institute)


  1. “Game… blouses.”

  2. And I’m betting the omission to the pancakes part only means that it’s real.

  3. You bitches want some grapes?

  4. damewiggy

    aaahahahahaaaa!

    nice.

  5. Crowmanic

    Thx for the clip… I need some humour to kick-start my attitude! Thx 😉

  6. David

    You have to watch this.

  7. weyouth

    Hey I just visit your blog and I must say that you have very nice and impressive blog. Keep it up. And you are all very welcome on my blog to some time visit me http://www.weyouth.wordpress.com

  8. He should go one-on-one with Adam Ant.

  9. Though I would love to see how well he plays in heels…

  10. To see a real NBA player practice, or even beat down a guy one-on one, in that Prince outfit would be perhaps the funniest thing I will ever see. My vote’s for Gilbert Arenas; he has a good sense of humor, and he might be just crazy enough to do it.

  11. @ rain: Now that’s just overkill 😉

    @ Lady: he is wearing heels! check it closer… the mysticismismism continues

    @ Mike W.: If they can get Agent Zero to do it, I’d only ask for one more thing when the battle starts: Trampolines

  12. Just when you think you have seen it all, I come across this post. Does it get any better?

  1. 1 Top Posts « WordPress.com

    […] Prince Really Did Make It (Purple) Rain! [image]With many thanks to the notorious J.C.N. that oversees FanHouse along with Mottram, there’s an MTV […] […]




Leave a comment